Dear Santa,

Dear Santa Claus,

Thank you for bringing me exactly what I wanted for Christmas this year!  It has been many years since I’ve felt this good at Christmas time.  It almost seemed like Christmas came early this year, somewhere around the beginning of October.  Out of all the presents I may get this year, nothing can compare to that huge announcement with a ribbon on top.  Even though 2008 has been a good year, it looks like 2009 will be WAY better!  In March I am going to see lots of friends I haven’t seen in a long time, and we are gonna’ have a party!  We are gonna’ play and dance around like there’s no tomorrow, and it’s all because of you.

Some of my friends tell me that that you don’t exist, but I know you do.  I know it as sure as I know anything.  Just like The New York Sun explained to that little girl, Virginia, back in 1897, “the most real things in the world are those that neither children nor men can see.”  That editor was a very smart man, because what he said is true.  The stuff that makes me the most happy is invisible.  When I step inside that crazy building in Hampton in a couple months, I will close my eyes and be brought to the best place on the planet.  And I don’t need to look at anything!  The feelings are what takes me there; the love, the devotion, the belief– all the stuff you are about, Santa.  It’s kind of cool, you and this band I like aren’t so different; it’s really all about having faith in something bigger.  That’s why we go to to these shows– to be a part of something more than ourselves; not so different from the Christmas spirit.

This year, I want to thank you so much, Santa.  Thank you for allowing something so special to come back to a crazy world that so desperately needs it.  Soon the we will unwrap our gift and the celebration will begin; we will enter a Crayola universe where dreams come true.

Have a fun trip home to the North Pole, and enjoy the cookies and milk I left you!

Love,

Miner

=====

DOWNLOAD OF THE DAY:

8.16.97 The Great Went, Limestone, ME SBD < LINK

phish-great-went-97-jp2The first day ever at Limestone, Phish opened up Loring Air Force Base in style.  With three sets of beautiful Phish, this first night is one of the best single days in Limestione history.  Featuring the return to “Harpua” from The Clifford Ball in set one, the “Wolfman’s > Simple” and a sublime Slave in set two, and “Halley’s > Cities > Llama” in set three, this show is one for the ages.  In addition to these famous jams, the “Limb By Limb” in set three is one of the best ever played, with the music matching the surroundings perfectly. Enjoy this soundboard!  Night two to follow…

Merry Christmas, Happy Hannukah, and Happy Kwanzaa!!

I: Makisupa Policeman > Harpua*, Chalk Dust Torture, Theme From the Bottom, Punch You in the Eye > Ghost, Ginseng Sullivan, You Enjoy Myself, Train Song, Character Zero, The Squirming Coil

II: Wolfman’s Brother > Simple** > My Soul > Slave to the Traffic Light, Rocky Top, Julius

III: Halley’s Comet > Cities > Llama > Lawn Boy, Limb By Limb > Funky Bitch

E: Contact, Loving Cup

IV: Disco Tent Jam

*Starts with the theme and Jimmy story, picking up where the song aborted last year at the end of the Clifford Ball (08-17-96). **With theme from “The Odd Couple” tease/jam.

26 Responses to “Dear Santa,”

  1. Nice, Miner. See I don’t hate you. Christmas is the time for gawzing! I can’t wait for Hampton either, I think about it every day. I’m getting back into full swing Phish listening mode again. The soundtrack of my life. Merry Christmas!! HAMPTON!!

  2. Nice Santa/christmas connection. Summed up my exact feelings nicely, even though I will not be at Hampton, i am looking forward to 09 in a big way. Merry Christmas, Mr. Minor

  3. play_it_leo89 Says:

    Merry Christmas, Mr. Miner.

    Thanks for the daily gifts. I swear, reading this post is like the 365 days of Christmas. Thanks, really. Happy Holidays to you and yours.

  4. Jerrydamule Says:

    Happy holidays to all you freaks! 72 days until Hampton!

  5. Mutha_Ohks Says:

    It was 14 years ago tomorrow that I unwrapped Junta next to the fire and my life would change forever. I instantly recognized Divided Sky from my first show- which I had attended nearly nine months prior (4/4/94 Flynn Theater, Burlington). Returning to 7th grade after Christmas break, Junta in hand, I played it for all my friends- none of whom heard what I heard. 90 shows later, and the music still sound as sweet as it did that Christmas morning long ago.

    Thanks Santa, and thanks Miner.

  6. Miner you are the man. when i read your post i just kept smiling when i was scolling down. then i scrolled down to see the Went SBD, i was grinniin eear to ear. thanx. for my christmas present minor, you made my day. I think it is so wonderful how we all have this love for this thing called phish.
    Merry Christmas to all

  7. thank you mr. miner. happy holidays to all.

  8. i would like to share a story with all of you if that is ok…

    it was christmas morning 1997. I was 16 and a huge phish fan. about a month earlier I had made it up to Hampton for the two night 97 run. these shows were only the 7th and 8th time i had ever seen phish but i was huge fan. in fact phish was about the only band i listened to other than maybe the beatles and the gd. i had a massive collection of tapes and was always eager to spin anything new i could get my hands on. I traded mostly with my friends and occasionally with other heads over the internet. (ahhh those were the days…)

    anyway. i had been trying to get my hands on a copy of the 11.21 and 11.22 shows for like a month with out any success. the tapers that had copies of those shows, (any fall 97 really), were in high demand. the only person i knew of that had a copy of the Hampton shows was a guy named Don who owned a head shop downtown.

    Don was an old dead head though he also really dug phish. he liked to tape shows and had been in Hampton with his DAT and mics. so i went to see Don as soon as i got home begging him to spin the tapes for me. Don said that he would but that he had a lot of tapes to spin and would get to mine ASAP.

    so the month of December passed and i still had no tapes. i couldnt stand it. those 97 Hampton shows were the best shit ever and i just had to have them so i could listen to them over and over and over. i was freaking out totally jonesing for those tapes.

    so i wake up christmas morning and come downstairs to see what santa has dropped off. (granted i was in high school and knew the truth about santa but i was still anxious to see what i had gotten) i unwrapped the first package to discover a new stereo! complete with cd player and dual cassette players and everything. pretty cool. but then i went to dump out my stocking. there in my stocking were four cassette tapes wrapped in a rubber band. i didn’t even need to look at the label to know what show it was. my mom, who should definitely been in the running for “Mother of the Year 1997” had talked Don into spinning the tapes for me early so she could have them in my stocking for christmas.

    still to this day it is the best present i have ever gotten.

    “and i heard him exclaim as he flew out of sight,

    merry christmas to all and to all a tweezer>mikes”

  9. ^^ nice!

  10. Love that simple,

    i can picture that exact scene in bittersweet when listening to it, you know that one? Where he makes that face? yeah, you know

  11. goodbyehead Says:

    Thank you Mr. Miner, and have a Merry Christmas. Your website is the gift that just keeps on giving.

  12. John Campion Says:

    Happy Holidays everyone!!

  13. ^^ @ Layne

    TOTALLY know the moment you are talking about 🙂

  14. can you name a more ridiculous “llama” than the one from 8/16/97? I can’t.

  15. themanatee Says:

    what a great story Cason!! love the ending sign off!!!

    happy christmas everyone…glad we are all in this together…

  16. Mr. Miner,

    Thank you for this show. I read your posts regularly but have never replied. This SBD is great. Phish helped me earn a Ph.D., not that I’ve met them (nor do I care to ), but I listened to Phish music everyday while literally reading hundreds (likely over 1,000) of books over an eleven year period. I’ve only seen them perform approximately 30 shows (1st in Erie 94) but feel especially blessed having listened to and collected so many bootlegs.

    Coming from an academic nerd, please know that your writing is well done and well thought out. And, your knowledge of Phish-tory is second to none. Happy Holidaze.

    Dr. K.

    PS. Post Veron Downs – Great commentary on Fish from Trey.

  17. Have a nice Christmas!! Love from abroad.

  18. Phishthoughts is how I’ve been told Christmas should be celebrated – 365 days a year. Thanks Minor for your time and efforts. Merry Christmas to all the phans!

  19. Merry Christmas PhishHeads! 2009 will bring many great jams our way! Cheers!

  20. Merry Christmas phishies……….
    Don’t forget to read the book!

  21. BingosBrother Says:

    Merry Christmas Mr. Miner and all the rest. Hope you and your family had a great one. Peace.

  22. thanks so much for the went download, and not to look a gift horse in the mouth but — I was so excited to hear the disco tent jam and I can’t seem to find it in the .rar!! Am I missing something?

  23. Disco tent coming up ^^

  24. ^^ I was going to say the same thing. But more importantly, thanks so much for this website, it has helped to rekindle my love for Phish. I wish you the best for the New Year. Please keep this site going!!

  25. thank you mrminer!

    oh yeah and by the way — you rock! Thanks for posting all my old favorite shows up here! It’s been great reviewing my old collection digital style. The tapes are in a pile in the basement and it’s hard to find a place to play them anyway! With your help, my collection is becoming what it once was 🙂

Leave a Reply

